Skip to content

we’re brainy

June 13, 2006

I heard on the radio this morning that Portland is one of the brainiest cities in the U.S.  Actually, I was a little surprised that Portland ranks 9th and not higher.  Portland has several universities and colleges, but I don't attribute the brain bank to our being a college town per se.  I'd like to say that Portland is a city that highly values education, but I'm too jaded to say that in light of the condition of secondary education.  Perhaps it is more precise to say that continuing education and the idea of always seeking more knowledge is highly valued in Portland.  It seems like everyone here is still a student or is taking classes somewhere.

25% of adults in Portland have "some college" but never graduated.  That would include me, and I'm still working toward the finish line at Marylhurst University with a very useful degree in Cultural Studies.  And just a note: I'm unsure that measuring strictly by college education that one can quantify just how "brainy" a person or an entire city may be.

Unsurprisingly, Miami was the least educated with about 50% without a high school diploma. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2006 9:01 pm

    I’m not sure if you were being humorous with your title of “useful” before your degree or not. I suppose that I could make arguments either way for a cultural studies degree. I suppose I’d wonder what you’d do with a Cultural Studies degree that would qualify it for “useful”
    This coming from the Computer Support Tech with the fine art degree 😉

  2. Angel permalink
    June 23, 2006 11:18 am

    Well yes, Miami has an older population, and many in my parents and grandparents time didn’t finish high school, much less attend college. It didn’t have the stigma then that it has now.

    However, I’d agree about college education not being suggestive of brains. I’d say it has more to do with access than anything. Portland is filled with people who have at least some college partly because they come here from elsewhere for our nice free thinking environment. I’d be willing to bet the level of education isn’t strictly centered in those who ar eworking in their fields, or even those in traditional fields, but rather, that their are large numbers of folks in that category who are artists and “unemployed”.

Leave a Reply

