Skip to content

Art Alexakis eats Mexican food

July 11, 2006

I had dinner with a friend tonight at his favorite restuarant, Acapulco’s Gold in NW Portland. We ate outside, and while talking and munching greasy-good nachos my friend said, Did you know that’s Art Alexakis over there?

It took me a few looks to be sure, but it was definitely him. I forget that he lives in Portland, but I know he’s a very cool cat. Wikipedia has a pretty decent bio of him, where I learned that he lived a rough life and stopped using drugs cold turkey in 1992. Like my nacho-eating friend, his father abandoned him and his family when he was a kid. Multnomah County has done a neat project with notable types in the area by asking them to write about their lives at age 15. Art’s story is pretty intense:

when i was fifteen, i was jumped and beat up on new year’s day by a group of boys from a neighboring town, whose ringleader was a 17-year-old boy who had a problem with me sleeping with his girlfriend and taking his money and drugs from her … so my friends and i stole a gun from my alcoholic stepfather and went looking for this kid. i fully intended to shoot him…

There’s more to it, but you’ll have to read the whole story yourself.

Art has his hands in many pies these days, including politics. He was actively involved in the Kerry/Edward election campaign and has helped out Oregon’s Bus Project.  He’s definitely someone to keep in Ptown.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2006 2:27 pm

    someone apparantly has been hiding her website from her pals…online. which is basically impossible. how did i miss this?

    good to see you have stuff to say 😛

  2. Katy permalink
    July 13, 2006 8:24 am

    I’ve heard that he beat his wife in the 90s. Yuck. I also ran into him at the gym last year, gave him the “you’re hot” look, and then in front of me he said to his buddy, “Yeah, I get lots of young chicks hitting on me all the time,” or something to that effect. Slimy!
    You don’t have to publish this, just wanted to give you an alternate viewpoint. 🙂

Leave a Reply

