Skip to content

blog-reading Iraq

August 8, 2006

Blogs are little windows that grow wider and wider.

Tonight I’ve been surfing some blogs by various people living in the Middle East and thoroughly enjoying the perspective of these individuals. It’s quite a contrast from the MSM reports on the daily things going on in Iraq, Lebanon, elsewhere…

I imagine with difficulty being able to get on with daily life in the midst of bombs, chaos, unrest, and a paucity of daily comforts like reliable electricity and water. It seems that a lot of people cope with it all by writing about their experiences – and luckily the blogosphere is free for all to see. For now all I’ve found are blogs in Baghdad.

Here are a few notables:

Of course there’s Riverbend at Baghdad Burning – check out her blog if you haven’t already. She has a book now and her blog was recently adapted into a theatrical documentary at the Edinburgh Fringe arts festival.

Baghdad Girl is a 14 year old girl whose family just moved to the UAE. She likes cats a lot and seems like a really nice girl.

A Family in Baghdad is an interesting blog written by an entire family (minus “uninterested Father”). There are links to their sons’ blogs, and it looks like Mom does most of the writing in this one.

Alive in Baghdad is really great too – it has videos, interviews, and a link to more blogs in Iraq.

As can be expected there are a lot of dead blogs out there. They just drop off without a word.

If you visit any other blogs from Iraq or elsewhere, let me know!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. guffie permalink
    August 9, 2006 11:30 am

    Outside of the town I live in there is a beautiful vast wilderness the army uses for manuevers. I hate it because no one can go in to the woods there and it looks so inviting. Anyway, last summer they did some sort of training using what I can only guess were bombs, that is what it sounded like, anyway. It went on for hours, and it was a couple BANGS every few minutes. At one point I felt my nerves just tense at each noise, even if it was just me. I thought about living in a war zone, what that must do to someone, psychologically. I can’t imagine withstaning that kind of fear day after day. I am so disgusted by the terror that war brings down on all of us as human beings. I just can’t stand anymore killing. Its just getting to be a waking nightmare.
    STOP!!!
    STOP THE KILLING!!!

  2. August 10, 2006 7:13 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Guffie. Lately I’m starkly aware of how precisely unaware I tend to be of this peace we have here in the U.S.

Leave a Reply

