Skip to content

Here comes the rain again…

September 18, 2006

Here we are at Monday again and I’m really trying to represent a positive attitude.  Throw me a line if you can because it’s not looking that great!  I stayed up reading a book entitled America’s Disappeared, which includes 1st person testimony of released Guantanamo bay prisoners and great essays on the historical background of the Cuba-based prison as well as others. 

I also watched a couple episodes of this season’s Project Runway – so with those two things toiling around in my head as I dozed off, you can only imagine how lame my dreams were.

Banco de GaiaIn any case, I’m looking forward to seeing a group called Banco de Gaia tomorrow at the Doug Fir.  I’ve never heard of them but there are some really enthusiastic fans out there who seem to think they’re the bomb-diggety.  I’m sure Technogrrrl, who is going with me, will have a full report on Wednesday.

If they’re not great, we’ll at least be charmed by the duo that make the lovely Portland act we know and adore called Dahlia.  It should be sweet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2006 4:28 pm

    It’s horrifying. People seem to have a “that wouldn’t happen to me” attitude. What they don’t seem to get is that if it happened to someone else, it could very much happen to them. All the government needs is to say, “you’re a suspected terrorist” and you no longer have any rights. No evidence, no due process, nothing! It’s like a bad sci-fi movie!

  2. May 8, 2011 9:45 pm

    My spouse and i undoubtedly must think a lot more in that way to see things i can do regarding it.

Leave a Reply

