Skip to content

A black girl in stumptown

December 14, 2006

I’ve been lurking on a blog written by a black woman in Portland called That Black Girl.  I’m not sure what I think about it, but I know I like reading it and that I keep going back.  You should check it out.

Some of what she says makes me cringe.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. anonymous permalink
    December 15, 2006 5:44 pm

    cringe? why?

  2. December 20, 2006 12:06 am

    I’m visiting for the first time. I got here by one of your earlier posts, the one on Zizek. I like what you’re doing here.

  3. December 21, 2006 3:12 pm

    i think “girl” is cringing because of guilt by association…she’s a whitey and black folks in Portland think we’re all closet (or open) racists.

    i find it somewhat funny (as well as ridiculous) to be assumed a racist just because i live in Portland, OR. but i guess its all in based around your worldview.

    in one of Black Girls posts, she talks about going to Atlanta, GA…when i think of the South (ie, Georgia), i think of wandering bands of KKK, poor black folks being drowned by hurricanes, and generally poor conditions for people of color. that’s what i get for never wanting to go anywhere south of the 45th.

    i think of liberal Portland as an oasis from racist crackers and rednecks – as well as from gang bangers and crack heads (though, again, that’s just my opinion). if she lived in Southern Oregon, she’d probably experience similar feelings in coming to Portland as she did going to Atlanta. now Southern Oregon, that’s some racist country there.

    anyway, just because i’m white doesn’t mean anything. as well, just because she’s black doesn’t mean anything. we all carry our prejudices, addictions and pretensions – either you live with your baggage or you fix it, the outcome is the near enough the same.

  4. M. J. W. permalink
    December 25, 2006 11:01 pm

    I hear what your saying. I think it’s important to not generalize too much. Not all black people in Portland think all white people here are racist and not all white people in Portland are non-racist. I don’t want to invalidate what Black Girls have to say in her blog. I’m interested in hearing her perspective since it is such a different perspective than mine of our city.

  5. January 21, 2007 8:26 am

    I like reading her blogs, too. It pains me, but it’s necessary to know how other women of African descent feel about living in Amerikkka. I’m surrounded by strong black women and assumed many of us have ‘found’ ourselves. We may have ‘found’ that we like the ghetto, suburban, earthy, etc. lifestyle, but found ourselves nonetheless.

    Thanks for bringing my blog to my attention, again. I’ll drop by every now and again to offer encouragement.

Leave a Reply

