Skip to content

Even the tomatoes know what’s new at Disney!

March 12, 2007

I decided to shop for my Sunday dinner ingredients at New Season’s Market last night instead of going to Freddy’s.  I occasionally like to treat myself to the organic produce and meats at the local natural market even though the prices tend to be at a premium.

I was feeling pretty good about my picks as I unloaded my basket at the checkout counter. But then a familiar logo caught my eye as I picked up my tomato:Disney on Tomato

What’s going on here? It’s a commercial for the new 2-disk DVD of Disney’s Peter Pan!

I think that what made this little ad so surprising and repulsive to me is that it’s on something that I can put right in my mouth.  I need my commercials to come on wrappers, I suppose.  But seriously – this kind of advertising seems really over-the-top to me.  It’s such an unabashed display of the ubiquity of Disney’s advertising.  What’s next?

I’m also disappointed that New Season’s would use this kind of marketing.  Good philosophy or no, it all comes down to advertising money.  I just wish they’d spare my tomatoes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris Hoskin permalink
    March 12, 2007 3:58 pm

    Fascinating stuff. I agree. Ads on foodstuff is too far.

    Over here in the UK we too are enjoying the re-release of Peter Pan on DVD.

    If Disney got the ad placement wrong in your case (which I think they did) I have to say hats off to them for the global rollout of the re-launch…..same fonts, same stickers, same DVD.

    chris @ rawstylus.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

