Skip to content

September is here

September 14, 2007

Yesterday felt like the first day of fall here in Portland.  It was misty, a bit chilly, and the smell of drying leaves was in the air.  I wore a sweater.  Patio seating at the bar was closed.

Once again I’ve slacked from writing on my blog, but I haven’t entirely abandoned it.  What do you think of the new look?

Many fortuitous events have occurred in Stumptown Girl’s life since I last wrote:  I left my job, I turned 30 and had an amazing 70’s themed party to celebrate, I was given a fabulous camera from my boyfriend, I started running, and I picked up the oboe once again.

None of these events have been easy.   By leaving my job I’ve also lost my health insurance, which feels dangerous and is also a practical inconvenience.  Turning 30 is it’s own ball of wax (although in general I’m happier than I’ve ever been in my entire life).

Learning to take good photographs on a complex digital camera is hard, but I love it.

I started running a few months ago, just to try it out.  I live near Mt. Tabor Park, and I fell in love with running the trails and kicking my butt by trudging up the many hill paths up to the top.  I run about 15 miles a week these days and I will run my first race at the Portland Marathon’s Kaiser 5k in October.  So exciting!  But also very difficult.

Of all this, trying to play the oboe again feels the most difficult.  I sound horrible.  I used to be a very devoted musician and felt quite serious about a career in music.  But when I went to college and didn’t make time for playing the oboe, the months turned into years.  Until last week it had been over 10 years since I’d played a song on the oboe.  I have longed to play again, and attending a summer concert at Laurelhurst Park given by the Portland Festival Symphony inspired me to pick up my oboe.   But boy, do I have a lot of work to do if I think I can play in front of anyone.

All of this amounts to several excuses for not blogging.  Many of you have told me it’s not adequate!  So here I am, and I promise you’ll see more of me soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2007 3:45 pm

    Welcome back, I’ve missed you! I like the new look too. I’m looking forward to hearing you play the oboe!

Leave a Reply

