Skip to content

Running is fantastic…for most of us

September 22, 2007

I’m new to running, and I love it. Running’s simplicity gives me a certain freedom I don’t get from other sweat-inducing activities (with the obvious exception of sex). I feel strong both within my body and my mind when I run, and feel amazing for hours afterward. Serious runners would perhaps call me a jogger, and that’s fine. But I like to consider myself a runner – an aspirant at the very least.

In two weeks I run my first 5k race with the Portland Marathon. Yesterday I met a woman who is running the full marathon, and I was in awe. Marathon running is serious business, and I’m not there yet. A marathon is 26.1 miles and takes hours to complete. A 5k on the other hand is only 3.1 miles and should take me about 30 minutes – small potatoes by comparison.

Homer runningPeople often ask me if running hurts, or they express the opinion that running is traumatic to one’s body, especially the bones and joints. It’s true that running is stressful on the body, but the neat thing about our bodies is that the stress of exertion triggers strengthening and reinforcement that actually prevents injuries. Still, running isn’t for everyone and I get that.  But running is accessible to most people, no matter one’s size, experience or speed.

Get in touch if you want to go running with me – Mt. Tabor has some sweet trails.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ben permalink
    May 5, 2008 9:58 am

    true true – running is beautiful…

  2. May 19, 2011 6:43 pm

    DOH! Haha. I am right there with you! I am brand new to running as well. I know this post is old but it was still a good read. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

