Skip to content

I love Powell’s books.

September 10, 2008

Of course I love Powell’s.  It’s redundant for me to say so here, but I’ll say it anyway: Powell’s Books is an awesome place.  It’s part of what makes Portland the best city.

Last night I saw Slavoj Zizek speak at the downtown location.  Powell’s brought him to Portland purportedly to speak about and read from his recent book Violence, but he didn’t read from or directly address his book.  Instead, he talked for almost 2 hours about ideology.  It was fantastic.  I won’t try to describe it here, because I’m feeling lazy tonight (really).  My friend said he was lovely.  It’s true.

Powell’s is also hosting a reading from Paul Auster, another great writer, next Saturday on the 20th.  I’m reading his New York Trilogy now.

Anyway, thanks Powell’s, for making life better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2008 10:08 pm

    Yes – Powell’s Books is an amazingly wonderful place. As much as I love City Lights and Green Apple Books in San Francisco, I have to say that Powell’s has them beat as a one-stop, book-lover’s wonderland. And it goes far beyond just the book selection. They do it all right.

    Zizek was fantastic. I didn’t know how much I’d get out of seeing him speak as I haven’t yet read anything of his. I found him accessible, provocative and delightful.

  2. November 12, 2011 12:28 am

    Vous cherchez sac Lancel pas cher ? Sac à main Lancel, sac Lancel BB, sac seau Lancel en vente privée en cours… ici découvrez votre maroquinerie Lancel.

Leave a Reply

